The Second Alan Turing Contest in Theoretical Computer Science and Discreate Mathematics for Russian-speaking students (TuCo 2017)


Winners of the Turing contest in year 2016

Winners of the Turing contest in year 2017

The aim of the contest is to promote scientific activity among Russian-speaking students, and to award the authors of best student research papers in theoretical computer science and discrete mathematics.

The contest is organized by the St. Petersburg Academic University, the St. Petersburg Department of V.A. Steklov Institute of Mathematics and the Computer Science Club.

The contest is open to Russian-speaking students from all countries. To be eligible to participate, a student must be enrolled in an undergraduate or Master's programme of any university at the 1st of April, 2017. Doctoral students are not eligible for participation.

Research papers in theoretical computer science and discrete mathematics are being sought. The papers must be written with due mathematical rigour, in Russian or in English. Both published and unpublished papers are eligible. The page limit is 15 pages. For longer papers, less essential details should be moved into an appendix, with the main part shortened to 12 pages, so that the contents of the paper could be understood without looking in the appendix.

Topics include, but are not limited to the following: algorithms, data structures, cryptography, game theory, machine learning, computational geometry, complexity theory, computability, combinatorial optimization, information theory, Kolmogorov complexity, coding theory, mathematical logic, graph theory, combinatorics, combinatorics on words, formal language theory, automata, compilers, programming languages, parallel computation, verification.

Submission of collaborative work is also allowed. In this case, the submission must be accompanied with a letter from the co-authors describing the contribution of the contest participant.

The submission deadline is the 10th of May, 2017, 23:59 Moscow time (20:59 GMT). Over the next weeks, the Jury reviews the papers, and, if necessary, requests reviews from external experts. Then the Jury discusses the reviews and selects 5--10 best papers for participation in the final round.

Paper submission is handled using the EasyChair system. To submit a paper see Russian page for details.

The final round shall be held in late June or in early July, 2017 at the St. Petersburg Academic University. Selected participants shall be invited to the final round by the Jury. Participants are offered free accommodation in the Academic University's guesthouse. Travel expenses may also be partially reimbursed.

Participants give short oral presentations of their papers in Russian and answer the Jury's questions. Then the Jury selects the winners of the contest at a closed meeting. The winners receive monetary awards: the 1st prize is 100,000 rubles and the 2nd prize is 50,000 rubles. The Jury reserves the right to change the number of prizes. All participants of the final round receive honorary certificates.

Members of the Jury.

  • Maxim A. Babenko (Moscow)

  • Dmitry Bulychev (St. Petersburg)

  • Nikolai K. Vereshchagin (Moscow)

  • Kira Vyatkina (St. Petersburg)

  • Edward A. Hirsch (St. Petersburg)

  • Dmitry Itsykson (St. Petersburg), secretary

  • Iskander Sh. Kalimullin (Kazan)

  • Dmitry V. Karpov (St. Petersburg)

  • Alexander S. Kulikov (St. Petersburg)

  • Sergey I. Nikolenko (St. Petersburg)

  • Alexander Okhotin (Turku, Finland), chairman

  • Ilia N. Ponomarenko (St. Petersburg)

  • Artem V. Pyatkin (Novosibirsk)

  • Andrei M. Raigorodskii (Moscow)

  • Viktor L. Selivanov (Novosibirsk)

  • Fedor V. Fomin (Bergen, Norway)

  • Alexander Shen (Moscow; Montpellier, France)

  • Arseny M. Shur (Ekaterinburg)

Contact e-mail: turingcontest (at) (this address should not be used for submissions)